Radio Hall of Fame 2022 Nominees Announced – Billboard

The Museum of Broadcast Communications has announced the 2022 nominees for the Radio Hall of Fame. The 24 contenders were chosen by the Radio Hall of Fame nominating committee, with input from the radio industry and listeners.

Kraig T. Kitchin, co-chairman of the Radio Hall of Fame, said in a statement: “We’ve made changes in 2022 to allow voting participants to vote for up to six nominees for induction, and [to] limit the voting process to knowledgeable industry members. Listeners and industry members alike contributed more than 2,500 suggestions for the nominating committee to consider.”

Dennis Green, the other co-chairman of the Radio Hall of Fame, added: “The 2022 list of nominees for induction to the Radio Hall of Fame represents some of the most talented individuals in the history of our medium. This year’s nominees made their mark in a variety of formats from coast-to-coast and town-to-town up and down the dial. All 24 nominees are deserving of Hall of Fame recognition. These amazing radio stars help make radio special to millions of listeners and pave the way for future Hall of Fame talent.”

Voting extends from June 22 through July 8. The top six vote recipients will be part of the eight-member 2022 Radio Hall of Fame induction class. The two remaining inductees will be selected by the Radio Hall of Fame nominating committee.

More than 600 industry members will receive a confidential ballot on June 22 to cast votes for up to six nominated individuals. The balloting will be conducted by and overseen by Miller Kaplan‘s Andrew Rosen.

2022 Radio Hall of Fame inductees will be announced July 25 and honored in-person at the 2022 Radio Hall of Fame induction ceremony on Nov. 1 in Chicago.

Here’s a complete list of 2022 Radio Hall of Fame nominees. They are shown alphabetically by first name:

Bob Stroud – WDRV-FM / Chicago

Bobby O’Jay – WDIA-AM / Memphis (posthumous)

Broadway Bill Lee – WCBS-FM / New York

Carol Miller – WAXQ–FM / New York

Charles Laquidera – Boston

Chris “Mad Dog” Russo – SiriusXM

Dave Ross – KIRO–FM / Seattle

Diane Rehm – WAMU–FM / Washington DC

Dyana Williams – Philadelphia

Ellen K – KOST-FM / Los Angeles

John & Ken – KFI–AM / Los Angeles

Johnny Magic – WXXL-FM / Orlando

Kevin Matthews – Chicago

Larry Elder – Los Angeles

Laurie DeYoung – WPOC-FM / Baltimore

Lon Helton – Country Countdown USA

Matt Siegel – Boston

Mojo in the Morning – WKQI-FM / Detroit

Pat St. John – Sirius XM

Pierre Robert – WMMR–FM / Philadelphia

Raul Brindis – KLTN-FM / Houston

Steven Van Zandt – SiriusXM

Suzyn Waldman – New York Yankees Radio Network (WFAN – A/F New York)

Walt “Baby” Love – Gospel Traxx

Source link

Share this post